Accounting users can return expense reports that are being processed to the user that originally created it by using the ”Return to creator”-function. This functionality results in the expense report will be taken out of the workflow. That means that:
- Accounting users are no longer able to edit/process the expense report
- It is only available for the user who has the expense report for editing.
- The expense report can be seen in the Expense Report Archive with the status: “Returned for editing”.
Please note that the expense report will be returned to the creator of the expense report, not to the owner; unless the owner and the creator is the same user.
John Johnson is on a two-day trip. His expenses are reported by his secretary Eric Ericson, who creates the expense report in Ibistic and sends it out into the workflow and sends it to John Johnson for signing. In this scenario:
- John Johnson is the owner of the expense report
- Eric Ericson is the creator of the expense report.
- the expense report will be sent to Eric Ericson for editing, because he is the creator of the expense report, if the “Return to creator”-function is used.
John Johnson is on a two-day trip. Eric Ericson is reporting the expenses, and sends the expenses to John Johnson for editing and signing. John Johnsen edits the expenses, signs and sends the expense report out into the Workflow. In this scenario:
- John Johnsen is the creator an owner of the Expense report.
- Using the “Return to creator”-function will result in the expense report being sent back to John Johnsen
John Johnsen is on a two-day trip. He’s creating an expense report and sends it into the workflow. In this scenario:
- John Johnsen is the creator and owner of the expense report.
- using the “Return to creator”-function will result in the expense report being sent back to John Johnson for editing.
If the creator of an expense report is not the owner, but you want the owner to edit the expense report. Then you’ll have to send if to the owner for “Acceptance” or “Approval”. That way the owner can click on “Edit”, edit the expense report and send it back into the workflow.
Screenshots to illustrate:
This is how it looks when an accounting user wants to return an expense report to the creator:
When you return an expense report to the creator you will see this message before the expense report will only be accessible for the creator. And you will have to click on “Confirm”:
When this is done, the documents can be found in the Expense report archive with the status: ”Returned for editing”. Hover the cursor over the status bubble to see who returned the expense report and when they did it:
Finally, you can see who is currently editing the expense report on the expense report header itself – there you will be able to see how far the expense report is in the workflow: